Empties #1

SONY DSC

I’ve been accumulating my empty products for a while now, and I thought I’d share with you all what I managed to finish this past month. This post involves a lot of mini reviews, so get ready!

Cleansers/makeup removers

Byphasse micellar make-up remover, 500ml | £7.95 

I picked up this bottle of micellar water after trying out whilst visiting my cousin. I bought it at an exchange rate of £2.50 and thought it was a steal for a 500ml bottle. Since then I have seen it being stocked at the UK store BeautyBase who seem to stock a wide range of Byphasse, a French-brand’s, products. Their website claim it retails for £7.95, and it’s currently reduced to £3.99, but I am sure I saw it in store for cheaper.

I really enjoyed using this to remove my make-up before cleansing as it did a good job – but it didn’t remove waterproof makeup. For the price you get 500ml of product and this bottle lasted me over eight months with regular use. It does however have a very faint scent but it doesn’t linger, especially when followed with a cleanser.

Would I buy it again? I already have a second bottle.

 

Garnier Simply Essentials 2 in 1 Make-up Remover, 200ml | £2.69

I bought this almost a year ago and forgot about it when I bought the Byphasse micellar water, but when I ran out of that one I started using it again. It’s actually a really good makeup remover and is amazing at removing waterproof mascara without getting into my eyes and giving me blurry vision, which I find some waterproof makeup removers do.

Would I buy it again? Yes, I would.

 

Simple Kind To Skin Purifying Cleansing Lotion, 200ml | £3.45

This cleanser is great for days where I need a gentle cleanser that does its job well. I used this mostly as a morning cleanse, but also as a second cleanse on days when my skin was irritated. It’s a cream cleanser which I massage onto a wet face for a few minutes then wipe off with a warm flannel.

Would I buy it again? I think I will.

Toners

La Roche-Posay Serozinc Spray, 150ml |£8.50

I picked this up after hearing almost every blogger rave about it for blemish-prone skin. I used it daily, usually after both my morning and evening cleanse, but didn’t notice a massive difference. I guess I could say it reduced redness slightly, but other than that I didn’t feel it prevented or healed any pimples. The spray itself sprays nicely although it does sometimes spit at you. It felt nice on the skin.

Would I buy it again? The product itself isn’t cheap for only 150ml of product and it finished really quickly. I can’t decide if I like it or not, and although I’m not blown away by it, I think I will buy it one more time to give it another chance.

 

Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Facial Pads, 60 pads| £12.99

These pads were my introduction to acid toning/exfoliation and I noticed a difference in my skin’s texture and radiance at the beginning. However with time the pads started to dry and I felt it had less of an effect on my skin. They are excellent for beginners, and for the price I would say they’re worth a try. (I have a more in-depth review and comparison with the First Aid Beauty Radiance Pads you can check out too.)

Would I buy it again? Honestly, no. I prefer the FAB Radiance Pads much more.

Serum

Boots Botanics All Bright Radiance Concentrate Serum, 25ml | £6.99

This serum sinks straight into the skin and leaves the skin smooth and feeling hydrated. I really enjoyed using this, both in the morning and at night. Despite using it with the All Bright Hydrating Day and Night cream I didn’t see any ‘glow’ or brightening effect as promised.

Would I buy it again? No. There are many other brightening serums that I want to try.

Creams

Ultra Repair Cream, 56.7g | £9

I fell in love with this cream during winter when my skin was so dry. When applied at night, you wake up with perfectly hydrated skin ready for makeup application. On days when my skin is acting crazy I usually skip on any makeup and just use this product. This cream is not limited to facial skincare, and can be used on any parts of the body (hands, feet, elbows…). It’s perfect.

Would I buy it again? I’ve already bought the large tub

 

Nivea Daily Essentials Light Moisturising Day Cream for Dry and Sensitive Skin SPF15, 50ml | £4.09

I didn’t like this cream initially as I thought it was too hydrating for daytime use to the point where I thought looked greasy, but it really grew on me. Immediately after application it is a bit shiny but it sinks in and I found that it retained hydration, unlike other moisturisers which wear off after a few hours. It has a nice smell, is good for sensitive skin, and has SPF – so it’s a great affordable day moisturiser.

Would I buy it again? Yes, I do think it’ll be handy in winter.

 

Vichy Aqualia Night Spa Deluxe Sample | £26.50 (full size) 

I got this deluxe sample in the FeelUnique Skincare Superstars Beauty Box, it promises to provide intense hydration to the skin. It can be used as a mask overnight but I only used it as a night moisturiser and loved the way my skin felt the next morning. It’s not extremely hydrating but it provides a decent amount of moisture  where your skin is soft and plump in the morning.

Would I buy it again? Possibly, it’s pricey so I would only buy it if it’s on a good offer.

 

Boots Botanics All Bright Hydrating Day Cream SPF15, 50ml | £4.99

This was an overall good day moisturiser. It had SPF, and that I liked, but it was a white cream which needed to blended in very well for it to sink in. It was sufficiently hydrating, and left your skin looking, well, in the nicest way possible, wet. I enjoyed it in the winter but not so much in the summer. Under makeup it wasn’t the best. I found that it made my foundation roll and tended to avoid it if I was going to wear makeup that day.

Would I buy it again? I bought it when it was on offer for £2.49 and for that price I cannot complain, but I wouldn’t buy it again.

 

Boots Botanics All Bright Hydrating Night Cream, 50ml | £4.99

 I bought this alongside the day cream and enjoyed using it so much more. It is much thicker in consistency and feels nice on the skin. It sinks into the skin really fast, so there usually isn’t any residue left when you wake up, and skin is moderately hydrated. I would recommend this for night moisturising in the summer as although it was thick, I think I would need something thicker in the winter.

Would I buy it again? Not right now, but maybe in the summer.

 

What products have you finished this month? Would you repurchase?

Follow me on Bloglovin!

9 thoughts on “Empties #1

  1. You have such a nice assortment of cleansers! I’m gonna go check out that FAB vs Nip + Fab comparison post now. I recently finished my FAB pads but was contemplating the Nip + Fab ones since they’re a lot cheaper. Sucks that the boots day cream didn’t work out better since that’s such a great price!

    Mili | Sharmtoaster

    Like

    • As mentioned in the review I prefer the FAB pads because they have a higher concentration of acids, but I think it might be work checking the Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Night Pads. As far as I’m aware those have a closer acid concentration to the FAB ones, so might work best for you!

      Like

  2. This brought back some memories! I tried those same exact moisturisers from Boots Botanics about 2 years ago and felt the same way. Hated how the day cream didn’t sit well under makeup at all but really liked the night cream.

    Like

Leave a Reply

